The Mysterious Way

God wanted to make known among the Gentiles the glorious wealth of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.

Colossians 1:27

Jesus has been speaking to me a lot about the mystery of life, how it’s not found in pleasures of the flesh, but only in Christ Jesus. But what does that even mean? What are the glorious riches of Christ Jesus? To me, it’s a mystery, one where I have to partner with God each and every day to find.

I stopped in Kona, Hawai’i after my mission trip in Tahiti, where I encountered God pretty powerfully. He told me that spiritual discipline would be the way to life and encouraged me to find out what this meant. Right now it means increased prayer, worship, study of the Word, and a commitment to fasting. The mystery would be revealed through practicing these disciplines.

Truthfully, it all sounded so boring to me. I love prayer, worship, and the Word, but to describe it as a discipline, one that I would commit to every day, it just seemed so contrary to what life meant in my head. Wouldn’t I become too rigid?

But Jesus kept reassuring me with different Scriptures:

Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it.

Matthew 7:13

Jesus told him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.

John 14:6

I think I make it harder in my head than it seems. Every time I step into prayer, worship or bible study, I always leave feeling rejuvenated, refreshed and strengthened in my inner man. For some reason however, I still find myself resisting it. I guess that’s the flesh battling it out in me.

But I know deep down that this truly is the avenue to life: staying submitted to Jesus’ calling and following the Spirit each day, whether my feelings are cooperating or not. I’d be a fool to miss out and not tap into the richness, the beauty, the majesty, the vast wonder of God every single day.

You make known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

Psalm 16:11

As we grow closer to God, we naturally become more inclined to practice spiritual discipline, but there does come a point where God invites us to even more of life. I read stories of past missionaries, monks and normal, every day people who inspire me to new levels. These are the people getting up at three in the morning to worship and commune with God. These are the people who wake up shouting praises to their Father in heaven. They must have discovered something that’s available to all of us who seek Him.

My dear red-headed Kiwi friend Matthew told me about this book to help me along the Way which I have found quite helpful, but definitely challenging.

Image

And a highway will be there; it will be called the Way of Holiness; it will be for those who walk on that Way. The unclean will not journey on it; wicked fools will not go about on it.

Isaiah  35:8

The journey called “the Way” never ends! There’s always more of God to discover, and its the knowledge of Him that gives life – but it takes my cooperation with the Holy Spirit each day. God can only take me as far as I’m willing to go.

This is eternal life: that they may know You, the only true God, and the One You have sent–Jesus Christ.

John 17:3

1 thought on “The Mysterious Way”

  1. I like how ‘you’ discovered this book, but its pretty great, I’m glad you enjoyed it. Also finding these struggles myself now, and im enjoying you blog life backwards.

Leave a Reply

