Crunching Numbers

This past Saturday night when all of our work for the Book of Numbers was handed in, my friends and I watched what we thought would be a romantic comedy. We just wanted something light and mindless after a pretty intense week.

Well the “movie” turned out to be a 90-minute Christian play that was filmed and passed off for a movie on Redbox. It wasn’t even a good play. The acting was so send a manbad, and one of the character’s fake mustache was crooked and falling off the entire time.

In the play, the guy in the picture asked this girl out. He wanted to know if he could “help her crunch some numbers.” Nice. They then repeated the phrase “crunching numbers” several times throughout the play, which led to the title of this blog post.

Other than the title, the play has absolutely no connection to what I learned studying the book of Numbers. I just thought I’d share a little side note just for fun 🙂

So anyway, after studying the book of Numbers this week, I was most impacted by the leaders in this story: Moses, Aaron, Caleb, Joshua, etc.  They were completely sold-out servant leaders. All they cared about was seeing God’s will be done. They didn’t care about themselves. They didn’t care about gaining the spotlight. They were zealous for God’s will and for God’s people and that’s it.

And Joshua son of Nun, the assistant of Moses, one of his chosen men, said, “My lord Moses, stop them!” But Moses said to him, “Are you jealous for my sake? Would that all the Lord’s people were prophets, and that the Lord would put his spirit on them!” Numbers 11:28,29

Moses rebuked Joshua’s jealousy when others were given the gift of prophecy that Moses held sole claim to at the time. But Moses was far from jealous of these men who could now prophesy. In fact, he was delighted that more people were helping to bring about God’s will.

I loved the scene in Chapter 14 where four mighty men of God show complete unification with one another:

All the Israelites grumbled against Moses and Aaron, and the whole assembly said to them, “If only we had died in Egypt! Or in this wilderness! Why is the Lord bringing us to this land only to let us fall by the sword? Our wives and children will be taken as plunder. Wouldn’t it be better for us to go back to Egypt?” And they said to each other, “We should choose a leader and go back to Egypt.”

Then Moses and Aaron fell face down in front of the whole Israelite assembly gathered there. Joshua son of Nun and Caleb son of Jephunneh, who were among those who had explored the land, tore their clothes and said to the entire Israelite assembly, “The land we passed through and explored is exceedingly good. If the Lord is pleased with us, he will lead us into that land, a land flowing with milk and honey, and will give it to us. Only do not rebel against the Lord. And do not be afraid of the people of the land, because we will devour them. Their protection is gone, but the Lord is with us. Do not be afraid of them.”

Numbers 14:2-9

For the first time in the Bible, four different leaders, Moses, Aaron, Joshua and Caleb, were united together under God’s will. Their hearts were so aligned with God’s heart that they literally took on God’s grief whenever His will seemed to be thwarted. They were so consumed with God’s will that they simply didn’t have time to concern themselves with anything else. Though flawed, these godly leaders got over themselves in order to focus on higher things.

I know this is not a revolutionary thought, but my spirit stirred within me as I read this story because God was revealing to me what He’s doing in my life in this season.

I always use to think this was a nice thought, complete fear of the Lord and selflessness, but it wasn’t for me. Not only was this most likely impossible, but I didn’t really want it, or at least that’s what my flesh told me. I wanted what I wanted and when I wanted it, and that was perfectly fine because of God’s grace.

Now God is leading me to a new level of freedom I never dreamed possible for myself. As I rebuke thoughts rooted in fear of man or thoughts of any counterfeit affections and comforts, God has been purifying my heart and doing something in me there’s no way I could do without His Spirit. He’s basically helping me “get over myself” and live a life without compromise so I too can have a heart and mind completely aligned with His.

Those are my thoughts for the week. My prayer is that anyone who reads this is inspired and encouraged to submit completely to God and to follow Jesus into wholeness and freedom!

Image
This week our school camped in Death Valley a couple nights to mimic the Israelites’ wanderings

Leave a Reply

