3 John – God of Generosity

I saw that God at times will give back even more than what I give, which encourages me to continue showing generosity even in times of dwindling personal savings!

Well, it’s been over a year since I started my CSBS (a nine-month long Bible school) and I want to finish what I started and write about each book of the Bible. I have just two books left, 3 John and Revelation! Better late than never… Presently I’m in Amsterdam staffing YWAM’s Foundations for Counseling Ministry School and a couple months ago I had the pleasure of hanging out with a former student from my CSBS who had a layover in Amsterdam. I had the thought that I wanted to bless him financially by covering his expenses during his 15350845982_3b6178b277_zlayover as he was returning from his own mission trip in Africa to join another one in his hometown. I internally struggled with the thought even though the amount I wanted to give wasn’t a huge amount by any means. But still, my own bank account was the lowest it had ever been since I started working. Then God reminded me of 3 John!:

You will do well to send them on their journey in a manner worthy of God, since they set out for the sake of the Name,accepting nothing from pagans. Therefore, we ought to support such men so that we can be coworkers with the truth. 3 John 6,8

Through this verse, God was teaching me to hold loosely to “my” money and be generous to others, especially missionaries, even if the amount that I give is small in comparison to what those in wealthier positions can afford. I was thankful that I made the decision to bless him because it’s just awesome to be free to honor others in every season:

Show family affection to one another with brotherly love. Outdo one another in showing honor. Romans 12:10

To top it off, several weeks later, I had the unexpected blessing of a mostly-provided for trip to
Zurich, Switzerland. I was completely amazed by the generosity I received through my friend!

Mount Rigi in the Alps, aka "Queen of the Mountains."
Mount Rigi in the Alps, aka “Queen of the Mountains.”

Through this blessing, I saw that God at times will give back even more than what I give, which encourages me to continue showing generosity even in times of dwindling personal savings!

Remember this: The person who sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and the person who sows generously will also reap generously.  Each person should do as he has decided in his heart—not reluctantly or out of necessity, for God loves a cheerful giver. And God is able to make every grace overflow to you, so that in every way, always having everything you need, you may excel in every good work. 2 Cor 9:6-8

15531206988_725251ee91_o
Mt. Rigi in the Alps

2 thoughts on “3 John – God of Generosity”

Leave a Reply

